Home Events & Happenings GSMA Glomo Awards 2016

[Competition] GSMA Glomo Awards 2016



The GSMA‘s Global Mobile Awards are now open for online entry for its 2016 edition. Renamed The Glomo Awards, the competition which has been held for 21 years is the mobile industry’s longest established awards that recognises everything from game-changing mobile devices to applications, technologies, apps and services, showcasing the ever-growing value that mobility brings to users, to industries, to businesses, communities and economies.

The Glomo Awards 2016 will highlight the greatest achievements and innovations across the mobile industry and include more than 40 awards over eight categories. Entries for the 2016 awards will be accepted through Friday, 27 November 2015, with the winners announced in February 2016 at the GSMA Mobile World Congress in Barcelona.

“Beyond rebranding the Glomo Awards, we are planning many other exciting developments for the 2016 edition of the programme,” said Michael O’Hara, Chief Marketing Officer, GSMA. “Now in their 21st year, the awards will again showcase the most significant innovations in the mobile industry, from the best devices and technologies to apps and services, and we look forward to celebrating the wealth of talent and creativity the industry has to offer.”

The 2016 Glomo Awards will be presented in the following categories:

  • The Connected Life Awards
  • Best Mobile Services
  • Social and Economic Development
  • Best Mobile Apps
  • Best Mobile Handsets and Devices
  • Best Mobile Technology
  • Government Excellence Awards
  • Outstanding Achievement

Key dates for the 2016 Awards are:

  • Deadline for Entries: Friday, 27 November 2015
  • Shortlist Announced: Late January 2016
  • Presentation to the Winners: Tuesday, 23 February 2016

The Glomo Awards 2016 are open to companies across the entire mobile ecosystem and may be entered online; a full list of categories, award criteria and deadlines can be found at www.globalmobileawards.com/categories2016.

The awards will be judged by independent experts, analysts, journalists, academics and, in some cases, mobile operator representatives. The winner of the “Outstanding Overall Mobile Technology – the CTOs’ Choice” award will be selected by a panel of industry-leading CTOs from the worldwide operator community. Note that select awards will be nominated by judges or by an independent panel of experts and will not be open for online entry. The submission of video to support entries is strongly encouraged by the awards judges.